Fish Sauce for Breakfast, Anyone?


Every weekend with my folks always results in 5 pounds gained and food to take home to The Husband. This weekend was no different where I had at least three different types of Lao food as take-home tokens. Humnoy had his share of kao neow (sticky rice) as Grandma wore him around in her own version of a baby sling.

Supervising Grandma’s kao neow

Why is it that mainstream baby companies make their big bucks from simple ideas that come from foreign mothers with minimal resources? Seriously, my mom found a large scarf and used her Lao talent to tie Humnoy onto her hip while he happily grubbed on a wedge of sticky rice. In my Moby Wrap, a stretchy wrap that retails for at least $45, he’d be fussing and trying to do back flips to get out of it.

Lao Grandma- 1; Mom- 0

Lao breakfast isn’t confined to a simple eggs and ketchup task. Laotians will have lunch or dinner items for the first meal of the day before you see an omelet on the menu. Our last morning of our weekend stay was no exception. Friends, I had one of my Husband’s most-requested foods.
20110912-114137.jpg

It’s spicy, coconutty and so beyond flavorful. I had “ga bounkao poun for breakfast. Kao poun can be best described as curry noodle soup (Lao friends, please jump in to correct me if I’m wrong)! It reminds me of Mexican menudo because you have the stock with chicken meat then you add some sort of carb (in kao poun’s case, it’s noodles) then top off with fresh cabbage, cilantro and fresh squeezed lime. Don’t forget the bean sprouts and extra fish sauce, if desired!

Now that I’m back home, tomorrow morning will be unlike regular breakfasts in our household. Forget the eggs and gluten-free blueberry waffle, Mama’s going to have some kao poun.

What is your usual breakfast look like? Have you ever switched it up and had lunch/dinner for breakfast? Any unusual items you’ve had or made yourself for breakfast?

4 thoughts on “Fish Sauce for Breakfast, Anyone?

  1. Are you talking about “kao poon”??? I pretty sure that you are talking about kao poon. When you say “ga boun”, that sounds like some white folks pronouncing it:-). hahahhaa Sorry, I can’t resist.

    I might be the only laotians that do not care for kao poon. All my friends and families think I’m super weird, because everyone loves it. But, I’ll eat the noodle “kao poon” with some spicy papaya salad:-).

  2. OMG! You’re so RIGHT!!! It is ‘kao’! How embarassing! ;(

    Yes yes yes, I’m so white-washed, can you tell! I must change before I further descend in Laotian shame! HAHAHA I’ll link it to you because you caught the error.

    Wow, I can’t believe you don’t care for kao poon! Yes, everyone does have their dislike. I don’t care for anything liver! Ick!

  3. Im a cajun girl & hubby is Hawaiian so we mix & mesh frequently. We have pot of rice ready 24/7 because everything goes with rice 🙂
    Hawaii does Loco Moco steamed rice, hamburger patty, fried or scrambled egg & gravy. We make variations on this often using left over steak, stew meat, kalua pig, corn beef hash. On Christmas morning my island hubby requested leftover Gumbo for breakfast *gasp* I have finally southernized my pineapple LOL
    I love to cook & try new things out. Loves making/pigging out on some Tonkatsu, crispy gau gee, char siu to name a few. Just tried making Butter Mochi last week. It turned out pretty good 🙂
    Okay now Im hungry & must get back to my night shift nurse duties … Le sigh…

So, what do you think?

