Lao Curry


I’m two for two on this Lao food challenge. Not so shabby for slowly building my Lao woman cred! The decision for my second week was easy because I’ve made it before with the help of my hand-written notes from over the phone with my mom. I have since thrown that paper away and thank goodness (in this case) Mommy texts because she “wrote” her instructions for Lao curry all down for me! I, more or less, followed the instructions that were on the back of the Mae Ploy red curry paste container along with my Mom’s version and it was a great balance for what I had on hand and amateur Lao chef ability.

– Cooked jasmine rice – Mae Ploy red curry paste – 1 can of Chaokoh coconut milk – two cloves of garlic, minced – galanga, *finely chopped – ginger, *finely chopped – lemon grass, *finely chopped – one medium onion, coarsely chopped – two medium carrots, chopped – two medium Russet potatoes, cut into cubes – string beans, trimmed – sugar for taste – Lee Kum Kee shrimp sauce – precooked chicken (from previous day’s cooking)

*This is what I recommend- I didn’t chop them small enough/leave them big enough to avoid because the flavors are really strong if you get a bite of it. Some paste or pulverized versions would’ve been perfect.

My mom doesn’t provide or use measurements, she goes by taste. Lao cooking doesn’t use measuring cups or spoons, that’s the beauty of it all! Here is how I utilize my mom’s text alongside the curry container’s directions:

Step 1 I stir-fry 1 heaping tablespoon of curry paste into 1 tablespoon of canola oil then add 1 cup of coconut milk.

Step 2 Stir in the garlic, lemon grass, galanga and ginger for a couple minutes. If you have fresh meat, add it and cook for a few minutes.

Step 3 I add 1/2 cup of coconut milk and 1/2 cup of water and let it boil.

Step 4 Once boiling, I stir in the rest of my vegetables and occasionally stir until the potatoes are softened. Step 5 Once potatoes are softened, I add the precooked chicken, a small teaspoon of shrimp sauce and 3/4 tablespoon of sugar. *I add the rest of the coconut milk with equal part water.

Step 6 I let it boil once more then turned off the heat. It’s ready to eat!

My husband liked, I liked it, Humnoy kinda liked it. His Lao spice tolerance still needs to build immunity. What’s your favorite curry? Yellow, green, red? Can you handle lots of spice like me? 😀

Be sure to check out other Lao recipes at Weekly Lao Food Challenge.

4 thoughts on “Lao Curry

    • It looked good, it tasted good! Curry success! My husband has a higher spice tolerance ever since he’s been introduced to Lao food and it was pretty mild for his palate. He likes to say, “I’m Lao too” when he gets an opportunity to say it. 😀

  1. OMG Cousin, you inspired me to kinda make this last night. So I bought the Americanized version of “Thai Yellow Curry” sauce at Trader Joe’s and attempted it! It was pretty good! My roommate didn’t vomit!

So, what do you think?

