Top 3 Reasons Why Being a Stay-at-Home Dad is Harder


The hardest thing when taking up this new job was the idea that my very attached baby would flip his lid and wouldn’t have his beloved Milk Machine to make everything all better. Sure he had his rough first days but my husband rearranged his work schedule so that he could watch Humnoy on the days I had to go into the office (staff meeting, client meet-up, etc.) and wasn’t able to work at home so he could have a primary caregiver at all times. My other major concern was my husband, obviously. Could the same man who sprayed Lysol disinfectant on a baby spit-up spot on the couch be up for the task to be a stay-at-home dad for 10 hours for two separate days a week? I have three major reasons on why dads deserve a little more respect.

1. Dads have a steep learning curve

Going from a few hours after being home from work to a whole day takes some getting used to! He had to get used to a baby’s daily routine in a day where I was able to examine, study, and assimilate to his routine for a whole eight months. All that and figuring out a home cooked meal when spouse gets home? I’m not surprised I glance over at a napping daddy come 8:00 pm. I may throw in a wrench someday and schedule an appointment on a day I’m in the office just to see him sweat.

2. Dads are too fun to nap for
Since he was able to recognize faces and presence, Humnoy literally would jump out of my lap or boob when my husband came home from work. My husband sings to him, engages in play talk, and an awesome story-teller! The baby doesn’t want to “wrastle” or head-butt with silly ol’ me, the Milk Machine. Boobs are magical as in the case of my fighting-sleep and high needs baby boy where a nip slip makes the tiredest of eyes shut. I’m Boring Parent so why would he want to nap when his Fun Parent is up? Screw internal clocks!

3. Dads have to do it without boobs
Crying baby? Boob. Nap time fussiness? Boob. You hear all the time, and personal testimonial here too, about how it’s so much harder work to establish and then maintain a breastfeeding relationship. Yes, it’s hard and all worth it but can you imagine how much harder if I had to prepare bottles for this needy kid of mine? My husband doesn’t follow instructions for selecting thawed oldest vs. recent breastmilk but he does what he can with what he’s got (or doesn’t got).

So, in the tired words of my very own house husband, “Being a stay-at-home Mom is hard!” I now understand that while one parent may carry more weighted responsibility, it’s untrue that mothers have it “worse.” Even for my own set of parents, my mom and dad demonstrated equality in parenting and gender roles – My dad cooked dinner on week nights while my mom worked. Dads deserve a round of applause for sticking around, supporting us, and being a good “wrastling” opponent. Let’s face it: Moms still do all the work but have the power of lactation. 😉

Wal-Mart shopping list.

Am I missing anything about why dads are awesome? What does your significant other do that makes you proud?

6 thoughts on “Top 3 Reasons Why Being a Stay-at-Home Dad is Harder

  1. Such perfect timing! Justin randomly sent me a picture that was titled reason number 15 days are awesome and it was a picture of Philip crawling after a ball naked!

  2. Love it! Miss K and her dad are home together today 🙂 Can’t wait to get the picture of what she is wearing and stories of stuff they will get up to today 🙂 Big ups to your husband.

    • Haha! Fathers are always a work in progress. Believe you me, mine and my dad-dad has many kinks to still work out! My heart is proud for those mothers who do it on their own because I would find a means for a full-time nanny!

So, what do you think?

