Wearing a Baby and a Grandmother’s Memory


Dear Grandmother Mone,

Although Humnoy was born long after your passing, I strive to provide your presence in his life and mine. You are my constant inspiration – this blog, parenting choices, and in karma. I wouldn’t be where I am without your memory of strong will and instinctive motherhood in a country I am grateful to know of but to not have been born in at a time of war reparation.

I wore your *sinh to Humnoy’s *phakhouane and most recently to Lao New Year. It was an unbelievable honor to be able to keep you and my baby close to my heart. I hope you are proud of me and that the blessings from the New Year reach to you and that you know how much I miss you.

Love,
Theek

*sinh, the traditional Lao skirt made of silk and cotton.

**phakhouane, a symbolic offering to the assembled gods and a a welcome mat and gift for the returning khouanes

20120416-140017.jpg

23 thoughts on “Wearing a Baby and a Grandmother’s Memory

  1. This is such a beautiful post and a lovely photo. My Grandmother passed away recently and we do not have children yet. Keeping her memory alive is important to me as well.

    Lovely tribute.

    Suzy {visiting from Memories Captured}

  2. Pingback: Lao Women Make It Look Sew Easy: My First-World Handicraft Fail | The Laotian Commotion

So, what do you think?

