Dear Breasts – A Letter About Society’s Double Standards


Dear Breasts,

You’re going be marketed to American girls with Brazilian, Australian, and Russian bombshells in lingerie ads. You’re helping people choose which brand of beer to buy at the gas station. You’re being gifted to 7-year-old girls to ensure adequate endowment. You’re going to be seen more often than not at a beach and high school courtyard. You’re unabashedly a part of what’s called Tits for Troops. You’re supposed to cover your nipple but everything else is fair game.

You are the baby’s first and only food source for a long while.

You’re NOT spoiling a newborn. You’re NOT traumatizing young children witnesses. You’re NOT tempting other women’s husbands. You’re NOT letting it all hang out. You’re NOT doing it for sexual/selfish reasons. You’re NOT required to be in a bathroom stall. You’re NOT supposed to use a breast pump just to leave your home. You’re NOT the same as peeing, defecating, or fornicating in public. You’re NOT wrong, disgusting, or disrespectful to people around you.

You were made to do this.

31 thoughts on “Dear Breasts – A Letter About Society’s Double Standards

  1. Society tends to forget that’s what breasts are made for, eh? Love the idea of addressing the letter to them. Very clever way to approach the topic!

  2. Love it! I once heard a great retort for when someone suggests breastfeeding in a bathroom stall: “You wouldn’t prepare a sandwich in a bathroom, so why would you think I could breastfeed in there too?” Come to think of it, I wouldn’t even drink a bottle of water in a public restroom for 20 minutes, either.

    • I also think it’s funny to ask, “Would you eat that burger with a blanket/nursing cover over your head?” My kid is so strong-headed that he refuses to have anything on his head so why should anyone tell him how he should eat, right?

      Thanks for stopping by, Sleeping Mom. I love reading your stuff!

    • I often wonder when and how exactly did it turn into objectifying objects that were just boring old child feeders into multi-million revenue, where now it’s all fine and dandy to love breasts but when a child is attached, it’s “disgusting!” oy vey!

  3. I definitely don’t understand people who think that breastfeeding is β€œgross” (words from family members of mine). At the same time, I always felt when breastfeeding that it was a bit of a private moment between me and my daughter and preferred to wear a cover.

  4. I’m lucky, I think, that I’ve never really gotten a negative reaction towards breastfeeding. If it weren’t for the internet and my interactions with other breastfeeding women, I don’t even know that I would realize it was looked down upon. But I don’t live in a bubble, haha, and I feel the same way! Not gross. Natural. Just feeding your baby, the healthies/cheapest/best option available!

    • To be honest, Gina, I personally haven’t either! Well, to my face, anyway. We’re either lucky or intimidating and my husband is pretty intimidating. I’m lucky there because he is my biggest breastfeeding supporter. πŸ™‚

      I hope the person who says anything about can stand up to the hunk of a husband that is GH.

  5. Hi! This post could not be written any better! Reading this post reminds me
    of my previous room mate! He always kept talking about this.
    I will forward this page to him. Pretty sure he will have a good
    read. Thanks for sharing!

So, what do you think?

