Happy Bloggiversary – 7 Surprising Things I’ve Learned As An Online Mom


Even a whole year later, I still say, “Holy shit! People actually read my blog!” and, of course, a big “Thank you!” In just a year of naptime drafting and sporadically posting, I’ve come to get to know quite a few online identities in the mom community from all social media fronts. Some good, some bad, and somebody’s always got an issue. You write to share something in hopes others will comment, lament, or think it’s the funniest shit ever. I strive for at least two of these with every blog post or tweet.

Kidding aside (no really, comments are the holy grail of being online), I want to share some insight into my world of being an online parent:

1. Mommy Wars are real!

I thought it was this mythical tale of a mean mommy blogger attacking a newbie mom for saying something about her hair. Come to find out, Mommy Wars are online comment matches usually ending up with who gets the most support by other onlooking moms. Yeah, I see ya, Facebook.

2. Being anonymous is the smartest thing I could do.

Using pseudonyms and nicknames not only helps keep the creepers away, but it also makes for a livelier dialogue. I mean, it’s just more interesting to call my husband Gym Hottie, his college nickname, than simply referring him to the father of my child(ren). I have heard of online horror stories where moms have gotten hits on their blog through a search of their child’s full legal name! YIKES. Plus, I don’t want what I stupidly did or say tracked back to me in real life.

3. Not everyone will enjoy how you say things online and vice versa.

I once was told that how I say things is not how others may perceive them. Well, of course not, unless you have text-o-gram where my every intonation and sarcasm pitch of my online text is voiced by Morgan Freeman. I’ve gotten butt-hurt by what someone has said online and I have made others butt-hurt too. It’s the name of the game.

4. You can go viral by making a meme so others can laugh at your expense.

Nothing like getting a rise out of people by showcasing abuse by your child. It’s been real nice getting my 15 seconds of mommy fame thanks to me keepin’ it real when it comes to breastfeeding a toddler.

5. Staying true to yourself will not get you a billion followers.

Not everyone will get your niche whatever that may be. For heavens sake, I’m a 26-year-old ‘crunchy’ pregnant mom blogger who tries to cook Lao food for her blog but fails miserably. I can’t seem to connect on a level with the Giveaway Blog Mom or the Working Mom Ranty Blogs and they have a huge following. I keep it real when I can with the little following I have because they obviously like what I say and I’ll continue saying it.

6. There are too few recognized online moms of color.

Then again, maybe I’m doing something wrong where my Laotian niche hasn’t reached Ellen- Degeneres -famous yet but even the Top 10 Mom Bloggers don’t have much of a tint of color. I’m not here to change the world but I’d a least like to change that list sometime. Even if it’s not by me, I know there will be another influential mama-blogger of color who will!

7. You will meet your life-long friends online.

There’s not a day where I don’t wish I could gather all my like-minded mamas and stick us in a commune and be sister-mamas. When you find and connect with another person who gets “you” it’s the most fulfilling experience to laugh and connect like you’ve been friends forever. Even if I never get to The Ellen Show, I’m so grateful to have “met” such a beautiful array of mamas (and dadas!) in all aspects of my online life from near to across the world.

I love you!

What have you gained or learned from your online community of mamas? Am I following you yet?

If you haven’t already signed up to follow me, please do so by entering your email under my Follow widget. Please remember you must confirm through email to get updates straight to your inbox otherwise you did not complete the subscription process. I absolutely love when you read and I absolutely love, love, love when you leave a comment!

You can also follow me on Twitter, find me on Instagram under LaotianMama, and my Pinterest too.

28 thoughts on “Happy Bloggiversary – 7 Surprising Things I’ve Learned As An Online Mom

  1. Happy Bloggiversary!
    I’ve only just started this blogging business, and in a very haphazard way, but I think one thing I’ve learned is that there are a lot more like-minded mamas out there who are nice and cruisy and doing their own thing quite nicely!
    Bring on the commune!

    • Yay! Another joining the commune. πŸ™‚

      Being anonymous has given me much more freedom to be as honest as I can. It’s great! I still show too much of Humnoy but as long as people can’t find our physical address then I’m okay with that.

  2. I was hanging out with one of my in-flesh mamas and we were chatting about the ridiculousness of our babies breastfeeding lately. Hers is 10 months old and is now toddling around the coffee table and then stops by mama’s boobie that hangs down for a little drink and off she goes. I said, “oh, have you seen that meme,” and she laughs and said yes and we talked about it, and then I felt like I knew someone famous what I said, “oh yeah, I follow her blog online.” heh. so, maybe you don’t have a gazillion followers, but people do talk about you (in a good way) in REAL life πŸ™‚

    What I love about an online community is how multi-faceted it can be. We are moms, but we are also so much more at the same time. I love that.

  3. Happy bloggiversary – you are one of my favorites in blogland and Twitter – love you to pieces πŸ™‚ Keep the cruncy-Lao-mama stuff (and cute pictures of Hum) comin!

  4. I’m taking your word for staying anonymous! My first name is in there, but I’m new at this game so I figured that I’d trust your advice and keep my daughter and husband sacred…I did copy a little and assign him Hot Husband, which is a name that I’ve used for him for awhile (and my friends who like to make fun of me), but now it’s being immortalized in cyberspace. In response to meeting other mom’s, I actually told HH about your blog last night and he told me that we should hang out sometime…sweet man, doesn’t quite get the blog thing yet maybe so I had to explain that I’m pretty sure that you’re on the exact, literally opposite side of the US and that the internet is just REALLY BIG!

    • I did get a hit on my blog from a google search for my blog name and my married last name. My MIL does comment and we happen to have *the* most common surname in the country. So, there goes full and complete anonymity. I try to be secretive where I can.

      Haha! That’s so adorable HH thinks all bloggers live in the same area. ;-p

      I wish it were true, of course!

  5. Happy first blogiversary! (or is it blogoversary?)

    I get everything you say here, and good on you for remaining real. That’s what brings people to your blog, that’s what keeps them around. Keep on keepin’ on πŸ™‚

  6. Pingback: Why 2012 Was Better than 2011, the Birth of My Son | The Laotian Commotion

  7. I love your blog and this is a great post for a rookie blogger like me. I too wish we mums that walk on the edge of society could get together in real life. How great that would be for our children!
    Happy New Year! May 2013 be even bigger and better for you!

  8. Pingback: How I’m Limiting My Online Mom Activity | The Laotian Commotion

  9. Pingback: Year 2013 In Review: Naked Babywearing June and Eye-Pad November | The Laotian Commotion

  10. Hello! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a
    team of volunteers and starting a new initiative in a
    community in the same niche. Your blog provided us beneficial information to work on. You
    have done a outstanding job!

So, what do you think?

