The Overnight Cloth Diaper: An Update On The Update Of Getting Back Into Cloth Diapers


Yesterday’s stint in the ‘new’ diapers went without a stink albeit Humnoy’s realization that he still has to wear diapers even though we finished our last disposable the same day . Sorry, kid, if you’re not going to shit or piss in a toilet, you’re going to have to shit or piss in some sort of butt-attachment.

Our daytime and nighttime choice of cloth diapering is natural fibers. Be it prefolds or even sometimes fitteds, I gravitate towards those even though they’re a bit extra work versus all-in-ones (AIOs). I’m so absolutely paranoid about unnatural fibers (i.e., microfiber) that I will not use that unless all my cotton prefolds ran out or if GH is doing a change, which is rare now that we’re back to cloth.

Humnoy’s first night back in cloth was showcased by a Rumparooz stuffed with two- and -a-half flannel flats (just old cut-up flannel blankets). He’s sleeps through the night so this has and should last all night. Last night, my nose was extra-paranoid so I, naturally, put my nose right up to his diaper and took it all in. He must’ve just went or something but it wasn’t disgusting ammonia-smelling. The true test is the morning after.

The verdict is……..

No stinkies today or yesterday! The stripping rampage worked!

What’s your favorite diaper routine for overnight?

Follow The Laotian Commotion by entering your email under my Follow widget, located on the Home page sidebar. I love when you get to read it from your inbox and absolutely love it when you take the time to comment!

You can also follow me on Twitter, find me on Instagram under LaotianMama, and my Pinterest too.

12 thoughts on “The Overnight Cloth Diaper: An Update On The Update Of Getting Back Into Cloth Diapers

  1. Baby A is usually good at night with whatever we use, but we must change him ASAP or put him on the toilet when he wakes up because he likes to take a nice morning dump. 🙂 yay for cloth diapers return. Glad your stripping was effective. (I wanted to make a dirty joke, but my mind is tired).

  2. We JUST started to use Gdiapers in an effort to save money! I like them when I go through the day to realize I havent spent a single cent on disposables! Of course I give myself one day a week to use disposables as a break. My diaper collection is small right now, I need to choke up another 50$ to make my adventure more successful. I’ll tell ya what though – people look at you like you’re fucking crazy when you say you use cloth diapers. Like you’re “one of those people”…a hipster? a poor chick? going very green? Who knows. I’ll probably do a post on the g diapers in another week of use if you wanna come see me i’m at http://www.birminghambell.com 🙂
    -Bell

    • Thanks, Bell! I’ll come and check how the gDiapers went. I’ve hear many people like them because of the disposable inserts, which tickles my fancy.

      If I were to encourage a cloth diaper supply list, it’d be a diaper sprayer. Hands down, the best accessory! Good luck!

      • They are really cute!! Also with G diapers- I wouldn’t recommend buying the disposable inserts – it’s the same amount of $ and much easier to go with regular disposable diapers when you need to! I felt silly after comparing prices of disposable inserts for them to regular diapers! Because I’d already bought them before checking the $ lol

  3. I don’t think you will like gDiapers if you don’t want any synthetic materials on your child. They require a little plastic sling that snaps into the cloth cover and holds either the cloth or flushable insert. I love how they look and that they were a less bulky fit than my other cloth diapers, but they irritated my son’s stomach and usually leaked when he went #2. I saved them and plan to give them a try again with our next baby who will be joining us in March. It is probably just a personal fit issue as so many people are very happy with them. Maybe they will work without a problem next time around. If not, I have a lot of prefolds and fitted diapers that I sewed. I’m playing with the idea of exploring EC as well, but we’ll see.

    I need to read up on how to strip diapers. I never found I needed to do it the first time around as smell never became an issue, but I want to before subjecting them to round two when I get them out of storage.

    • That’s good to know about gDiapers, Karen! For now, I am fine with my current stash for Humnoy but am definitely preparing myself with as much EC knowledge for Bébé #2 so I don’t *have* to rely on a newborn/little stash.

      Congratulations on your pending arrival! 🙂

So, what do you think?

