Looking On The Bright Side Of Parenting Alone


It would be an insult to single parents if I said I was a single parent when Gym Hottie is on a business trip. All I’m going to claim is that I’m doing this alone for four days without alcohol. So for the next four days, dinner will be disastrous, the house will be in shambles, and my escape plan from motherhood shall be perfected by Tuesday. For this first night of solo parenting, Humnoy and I took a little trip to the Dollar Tree after his 5:00 pm siesta. You better believe I bought frozen sweet potato fries and canned pasta sauce to my heart’s content. This just makes my life a wee bit easier and our diet a way bit off for the next few days.

GH is earning money during all this so that’s a big motivator to stay out of the candidacy for the loony bin. I also realized there are plenty of enjoyable things when Dada is gone. A husband business trip also means:

Room in our family bed. As a bed-sharing family, we are quickly outgrowing this modestly queen-sized bed of ours. Since our move, we haven’t set up the side car crib yet and with this growing fetus, bed time is cramped. Now that Dada’s gone, Preggonator and Humnoy can sprawl out however we see fit!

Mama laptop time. You know how little time I get to sit and browse uninterrupted during the day let alone use my neglected laptop? Combined with the cramped bed space and screen brightness, I turn to my phone for bed time browsing. Here I am actually writing this from my laptop! In our spacious, roomy bed! Oh, the luxury!

Dinner time/bed time is whenever. I practice what you may call “laid-back/lazy/instinctive parenting, where I go with the flow of the child. We can work around the day’s schedule versus working around GH usually being home for dinner at 6:30 and in bed by 10:00. For the first solo-parenting night, dinner was at 9 and bedtime was midnight – all according to Humnoy’s crazy schedule that day.

Bed time routine is more focused. Once Dad is in bed, Humnoy knows that’s the best time to mess with him. Now that he’s stuck with the boring parent, he goes right to bed without a fight. Plus, the glory of still breastfeeding is my magic weapon.

No nasty husband farts. Husband farts are gross. Enough said. This reason alone makes the stress worth it.

How have you handled parenting alone for a short (or long) period of time?

Follow The Laotian Commotion by entering your email under my Follow widget, located on the Home page sidebar. I love when you get to read it from your inbox and absolutely love it when you take the time to comment!

You can also follow me on Twitter, find me on Instagram under LaotianMama, and my Pinterest too.

18 thoughts on “Looking On The Bright Side Of Parenting Alone

  1. I love this. I did a lot of solo parenting until recently (DH finally got off shift work) and I always whined about it, but its true, there are positives! I agree with all of these, and would add that I could cook what I wanted for supper. DH has fairly traditional tastes, and prefers a meat & potato kind of meal. When he was on nights, of experiment with vegan recipes, or just have eggs and today if I was lazy!

    • Laura, that’s another great point but I was a bit embarrassed to admit what Humnoy and I had for dinner last night! Normally, I go all out with dinner for GH because he is starving when he gets home from his bike ride.

      Sometimes dinner is cereal!!!

  2. I actually prefer solo parenting stints to having hubby around all the time. My husband is young and messy. He drops everything anywhere and everywhere. The house is cleaner and our routine is smoother when he is gone. Not to mention he doesn’t like watching Charlie for very long or very often. So it’s not like he is any real help. Thank goodness I love him. Haha!

  3. Yup! I typed that comment with one hand while my daughter napped on me (my husband refuses to put her down for naps if I’m home) while he was upstairs playing his bass. >:l Grrrrrr!

  4. I know! She goes to sleep in our bed at night no problem, but getting her to take naps on her own is really hard and he would just probably try to put her in her (unused) crib and let her cry. So I bite the bullet and become her human bed for naps because I would rather be inconvenienced in order to keep her well rested, less cranky, and get that brain to do it’s thing during sleep! But it is frustrating when he could help out a little more. At least it gives me time to catch up on TV or get on the laptop!

  5. I follow you on IG and I absolutely life your photos. It’s very heartwarming to know that you love your children so much. I just had a baby 5 weeks ago and some days are really tough but seeing women like you handle it with humor and grace inspires me. πŸ™‚

    • Angie, that is so very sweet of you! Congratulations on the new baby.

      I’m so glad you’re able to connect with my trials and tribulations with parenthood. I’m sure you’re doing an amazing job! I hope you come back to read soon! πŸ™‚

  6. Pingback: Pipe Cleaner and Colander Activity for Toddlers | The Laotian Commotion

  7. Pingback: When Solo Parenting Can Involve The Authorities | The Laotian Commotion

So, what do you think?

