Pipe Cleaner and Colander Activity for Toddlers


During my stint as a solo parent, I made the executive decision to buy out everything that caught my fancy as I rolled down the aisles of the Dollar Tree. With my Pinterest boards in mind, I tried to grab things that would make for easy activities. You know, anything that is bright, colorful, and that Humnoy will not choke on. For a whole dollar, you get a bajillion 45 of these chenille stems in a pack at the Dollar Tree. You should already have the only other required material in your kitchen cabinet in this easy toddler activity.

All you need is:

– pipe cleaners
– colander

All you do is:

  1. Put materials in front of kid.
  2. Model how a pipe cleaner fits into a colander hole.
  3. Sit back and watch them do it.

Additional ideas for pipe cleaners:
Play dress-up: Shape pipe cleaners into bracelets, necklaces, headbands, or eyeglasses.
Make it on-the-go: Re-use a seasoning/shaker container and trim the pipe cleaners to length and it’s a great activity for car rides or trips.

What other toddler-friendly activities can you do with pipe cleaners?

Follow The Laotian Commotion by entering your email under my Follow widget, located on the Home page sidebar. I love when you get to read it from your inbox and absolutely love it when you take the time to comment!

You can also follow me on Twitter, find me on Instagram under LaotianMama, and my Pinterest too.

10 thoughts on “Pipe Cleaner and Colander Activity for Toddlers

  1. This is the best freaking idea EVER! Cannot wait to try it someday! More toddler activity posts please! We have a long, cold winter ahead of us stuck indoors and I’m stockpiling activities. Okay. By stockpiling, I mean this is the first one. But the goal is a stockpile 🙂

So, what do you think?

