Mom Problems: Don’t Ugly-Cry In The Apple Store


My tale of caution for all parents out there and your reliance on technology to obsess over your kid(s).

When you want the new iOS 6 for your iPhone, you download the new software on your phone.

When you download the new software on your phone, your computer crashes.

When your computer crashes, you bring it into the Apple Store.

When you bring it into the Apple Store, the technician tells you your hard drive has failed.

When the technician tells you your hard drive has failed, you can’t help but think of the year-and-a-half worth of photos you kept on your computer of your first-born.

When you can’t help but think of the year-and-a-half worth of photos you kept on your computer of your first-born, you ugly-cry in the Apple Store in front of everybody.

Don’t ugly-cry in the Apple Store. Back up your computer and, especially, your photos.

*An ode to DirecTV‘s best ad campaign yet.

Have you backed up your computer? How do you organize your child(ren)’s photos?

Follow The Laotian Commotion by entering your email under my Follow widget, located on the Home page sidebar. I love when you get to read it from your inbox and absolutely love it when you take the time to comment!

You can also follow me on Twitter, find me on Instagram under LaotianMama, and my Pinterest too.

15 thoughts on “Mom Problems: Don’t Ugly-Cry In The Apple Store

  1. All my iphone fb friends have crashed with the new upgrade, too. I am so sorry. Please tell me some techie nerd can salvage your photos??!! Also, automatically uploading to a web album is good too. I should start doing that. *As soon as I/After I/Once I finish……

    • Ironically, right before I upgraded, I uploaded a bunch of albums to Walmart’s photo site… All pictures except Humnoy’s month to-month albums since birth. I just wanted to die.

      The tech did quote me $99 to get the 50/50 chance of salvaging the hard drive. It’s no guarantee either. GH and I are researching other independent technicians at this point. 😥

  2. Damn. Don’t pay apple yet. You’re in Seattle, the land of computer nerds.craigslist the hell out of the problem and don’t give up. My mother religiously takes her camera and phone to Costco and gets discs of all the pictures made too… Cheap hard copy to have

    Good luck my heart is totally sobbing for you right now

  3. I use iPhoto. When my daughter was around Humnoy’s age, I had an almost iPhone death and had all of her pictures on my phone as well. I was lucky enough to have a live-in computer geek, so he did some voodoo and brought the pictures back (I think he had to revert to the software prior to the update. I don’t remember as I was too busy making the same cryface you were), but I’ve tried to be diligent since with backing up to iPhoto. Plus, it helps keep me so organized lol.

  4. oh sad! I lost my SD card with all of Potamus’ photos from 4-7 months on it before I had a chance to get them in high quality (most are on facebook, thankfully). It SUCKS! Hopefully you can save yours!

  5. I hope you get your photos back! 😦 I’ve been uploading to shutterfly to share but should probably find something better to do all the photos.. good luck!

  6. Sorry to hear, hope you can savage the images. I do backup at work so I’m very discipline in backing up at home. I use an external hard drive and it’s very affordable these days.

  7. Pingback: Even Shitty Wives Get Love Poems | The Laotian Commotion

So, what do you think?

