Why Craigslist Is Better Than Retail Maternity Stores


I won’t. I refuse. I can’t. I simply hate paying retail for anything. Top two irks: toilet paper and maternity clothing. Toilet paper, I understand but clothing that is specifically designed for months-wear? Get that noise outta here.

There are discount stores and consignment shops, but Craigslist is the best way to shop when you are a retail-phobe. I search “maternity” on the local Craigslist site and I peruse my options. I find a great deal for eight pieces of maternity clothing for $50:

  • 3 pairs of jeans (2 blue jeans, 1 gray jeans)
  • 1 dressy top
  • 1 casual striped shirt
  • 1 sweater
  • 1 lounge sweater
  • 1 exclusive name-brand trench coat (this alone made it worth the drive!)

Why I love Craigslist for clothing:

  • $aving – If saving dozens of dollars isn’t your thing then I guess this reason for Craigslist over retail shopping will not sway you. If you do enjoy saving, Craigslist really is the best place to look for the best deals especially clothing that you depend on to wear for months until you get back into your pre-pregnancy wardrobe. If you look at it pennies on the dollar and price per amount of wearing, then you are definitely saving with Craigslist. For 8 pieces of maternity clothing, each item would be $6.25!
  • Not pre-owned; it’s pre-loved – Even if saving is not your top priority or do not enjoy previously-owned clothing, you surely will connect with the benefit of having first-hand experience of personal fit. You know you hate it when you try it on, fits great, and you wash it and it doesn’t fit like it did in the dressing room. With pre-owned clothes, it’s already true-to-size or the previous owner can let you know how it fits. Winning.
  • Haggle room– From her extra lot, there were a couple pieces I really wanted and only had a few dollars more. The thing I love about Craigslist is that you can haggle and beg and plead. You can’t do that in Target or even consignment stores. Sporting a pregnant belly and a frazzled, desperate face helped the situation too. Upon leaving and ~$53 gone, I acquired:
    • all 8 pieces above
    • 3 tank tops
    • 1 exclusive name-brand tunic/dress
    • pregnancy pillow
      Now, each item cost $4.07 each!
  • Reduce, reuse, recycle – If none of the reasons above tickle your fancy, at least consider the good deed when you buy from someone trying to sell their items. You are not only helping that person with extra cash, but you too can resell it yourself or donate it since you got it for such an amazing deal. You reduce (materialism), you reuse (perfectly fine clothing), and recycle (good deeds). Again, winning.

20121010-162304.jpg

SCORE! You can’t do that in Motherhood Maternity.

What did you enjoy or hated about maternity clothes shopping?

Follow The Laotian Commotion by entering your email under my Follow widget, located on the Home page sidebar. I love when you get to read it from your inbox and absolutely love it when you take the time to comment!

You can also follow me on Twitter, find me on Instagram under LaotianMama, and my Pinterest too.

11 thoughts on “Why Craigslist Is Better Than Retail Maternity Stores

  1. Love the dress! BTW: my maternity clothes tip. My mom’s a fashionista and used to be overweight. I borrowed all her old “fat clothes” to wear during my late 2nd and 3rd trimesters. Much cuter than most maternity clothes.

  2. I hated shopping for maternity clothes. I was always incredibly hot so I felt like passing out with all the taking clothes off and on. Because I was so, I practically lived in a tank top which was good because the armholes were always too tight in shirts anyway. I felt like The Hulk. Plus they were expensive. Just a bad situation all the way around.

  3. Thankfully I have ginormous boobs and so I’ve been sporting the empire waist fashion for years now. I only had to buy a few maternity type clothes (pants and a few tops) to get me through the whole ordeal. I scouted Craigslist for maternity pants, but being 6’1 it’s a challenge to find pants at a normal store to fit, so I just went and purchased them full price.

    What I am stoked about is the local value village which has TONS of baby/toddler clothes that are just as good as at the consignment shop, but for WAY less. 1.99 vs 4.00, woo!

  4. Brilliant!! I also recycled all my maternity clothes from various friends. I bought my Boba carrier from Craigslist.

  5. I would love of Craigslist here… I despise paying retail for things like this. (and some reason baby things are EXPENSIVE here) We don’t even have yard sales here in Laos (everything gets used to not being able to be used anymore) 2x per year one of the big international schools has a sale, last year I was 8 month preggers and bought as much baby clothes as I could find.Can’t wait till they have it again in June. Yes, call me cheap. I call me smart. Maternity clothes, I just bought “fat” clothes and some hippie stretchy dress (don’t love em but they worked for going to work) and at home wore lots of sins (sarongs) .. Man I miss Craigslist. 555…….More power to you. Spend your money where it matters. πŸ™‚

  6. A person necessarily assist to make severely articles I
    would state. This is the very first time I frequented your website page and up
    to now? I surprised with the analysis you
    made to create this actual submit amazing. Wonderful activity!

So, what do you think?

