Shit Mainstream People Say About Your Due Date


From pregnancy activities to interest of homeschooling, all my choices in motherhood are due in large part to because everyone is, well, not doing it. In addition to creepily rubbing my pregnant womb, strangers and especially well-meaning friends would offer their advice – generally unwanted, of course. “Normal” has evolved into ignoring the biological and instinctual cues as parents for the sake of conforming or convenience.

Here’s my experience with shit mainstream people say about…

Your estimated due date.

Me: “This Sunday.”
Receptionist: “Ohhhhhhhhhh my, tsk tsk, we must get you in sooner then, ya know, before your baby comes.”
Me: “Well, I’m due on Sunday but my baby won’t come on Sunday.”
Receptionist: “Well, um, ok. We will hopefully see you [at your appointment] then.”

– a phone call between myself and a receptionist at the potential pediatricians’ office

Today is the date that a medical professional has provided me as Super Bowl Sunday is my estimated due date. It is used to gauge measurements and provide information based on symptoms surrounding where along the gestation of this supposed 40-week journey. My previous journey lasted 41 weeks and three days, to be exact. Only about 5 percent of women give birth on their due date, uh, according to Oprah? Again, here I am meeting and embracing my due date- an estimation, not an expiration.

Rather than hyping up the end of pregnancy, I am celebrating making it this far with little to no complications. I get to celebrate spending some more time with Humnoy before my new role befalls upon me like the smell of (two) dirty diapers. I’m celebrating a great support team complete with a caring doula, midwives, and even a birth photographer on hand. I’m celebrating a baby preparing to choose the perfect timing for their appearance.

Who knows what I’d like to do to officially celebrate? I’m thinking taking some time to look nice and mop the floors. Maybe not within exact order but definitely on my to-do list in general. I want to eat something amazing maybe. I want to do something amazing maybe. Get in that 5% and get to do just that or still be pregnant and continue celebrating. All amazing.

20130203-015942.jpg

What have others said about your estimated due date?

Follow The Laotian Commotion by entering your email under my Follow widget, located on the Home page sidebar. I love when you get to read it from your inbox and absolutely love it when you take the time to comment!

You can also follow me on Twitter, find me on Instagram under LaotianMama, and my Pinterest too.

10 thoughts on “Shit Mainstream People Say About Your Due Date

  1. The part comforming being the new normal, EXACTLY! I get so much crap for wanting to homeschool, but I’m not changing my mind. Psh, like the public school system has anything to offer besides reckless, horomone obessesed teens who HATE school and have no interest or concept of learning. No thank you! Anywho…Got that out the way. Im glad you’re embracing the end of your pregnancy and not trying to rush it, that’s what I would do if I got to do it again. They’re only in there for a short amount of time before they’re attached to your hip!

  2. I am a Native American who got melasma on my face: serious brown spots and a brown line around my lips! Did you brown gals get brown lines anywhere else?

  3. This is why I tell everyone things like “early March” or “the first half of March” when my EDD is Feb 28/March 1. Or I’ll say I’m 8 months pregnant (I’m coming up on 37 weeks). (I had to outright refuse to give a specific date a few times at my shower– luckily with a wink and a smile– all our friends and family know what a weirdo I am about things like this, so they didn’t fight me over it.)

    I really find it hard to relate to comments from other preggos who say things like “only X more days/weeks until baby comes!” (and they’re not even necessarily scheduled to be induced or sectioned). I have really successfully brainwashed myself into thinking of it as a range. Even as I become pretty uncomfortable, I am not too tempted to think “only 3.5 weeks to go!” Instead I think things like “3-5 weeks– maybe 6.” I like to think it keeps me sane. Well, as sane as I can be.

So, what do you think?

