Dingleberries and Binkies


After the vent about raising a binky baby, I was again reminded that children are so vastly different in their childhood milestones and an attachment to an object is no different. I planned to just wait it out and let him take the wheel on the weaning off the binky. That is until the universe took over for him.

As I was preparing to put on his first diaper of the day to go outside and play, I noticed something every parent of a diaper-free child doesn’t want to see: dingleberries. You know, the gift that keeps on giving after you’ve thought you’re done with your back business. I freak out because vignettes of possible Hershey stains all over the apartment play across my now exaggerated imagination. I say, “Lets go poop” in my best nonchalant voice and I prop him on his insert and let him choose a book to read on the adult potty. He chooses the book that, ironically, marked the beginning of a development breakthrough. As he’s “reading” the book that began a new stage, this same act quickly prompted the forceful end of another stage. He jibber jabbers the sounds of the animals and “Moooooos” his one and only binky straight into the toilet bowl right between his legs. He screams “Gaga! Gaga! GA-GAHHH!” as I curse under my breath. I’m kinda relieved, but mostly terrified, as I’m throwing the Last Binky straight into the trash bin and tying it to take outside as Humnoy screams bloody murder.

TheLaotianCommotion.com: The Last of the Binkies: A Weaning Story

Right before the death of the Last Binky

Well, screw you, Universe. Since the death of The Last Binky, he actually has coped well with(out) it. He will ask for it and we re-direct his attention to something else and it seems to be working nicely. While that is working well, we do notice he is much, much louder.

What is the universe telling me?

Update:
1) We bought emergency binkies.
2) He is using one now for bedtime.
3) Two pillows have fallen victim to dingleberries.

Follow The Laotian Commotion by entering your email under my Follow widget, located on the Home page sidebar. I love when you get to read it from your inbox and absolutely love it when you take the time to comment!

You can also follow me on Twitter, find me on Instagram under LaotianMama, Pinterest and, of course, our YouTube channel.

2 thoughts on “Dingleberries and Binkies

So, what do you think?

