Why a Cloth Diaperer Won’t Use Cloth Training Pants


cloth training pants vs underwear.jpg

Imse Vimse Training Pants photo courtesy | Click photo to visit: http://www.cottontailbaby.com

Gym Hottie warned Humnoy is going to make me cry with his new potty learning milestone. The 26-month-old pulled down his pants, did his business on the potty, and pulled up his pants and caused a ruckus from me. I was so proud. Potty learning in our house means lots of nekkid time and potty cheers. He’s hitting plenty of potty milestones and I’m thinking it’s time to introduce the next step. With cloth diapering, you would think the next step is cloth training pants but I’m not thrilled on the idea.

underwear instead of potty training pants.jpg

This is up for debate because some may say he isn’t ready to be out of diapers. I’m just at a standstill on progressing to the next level and wanted to introduce a new concept. Humnoy wears a diaper when we’re out of the house and to bed since he sleeps through the night and, like clockwork, he wets one. He has free-balled it (and remained dry) during one-hour nightly playground visits and all three-hour naps for the last month. It was for experimental purposes and got me thinking I don’t want to use cloth training pants as next step in potty learning:

Wetness With cloth, it’s said that potty training is “easier” because the child feels the wetness in their diaper. Doing the research Google, I have decided that cloth training pants are just cloth diapers made to look like underwear. My problem with this is that I don’t want Humnoy thinking he’s in a diaper because he pees/poops in one. I think if he can feel fresh air wafting through his loins just like nekkid time, he knows it belongs in a potty chair. The same can be said for wearing thin, cotton underwear.

Cleanup With cloth trainer pants, you’re changing a diaper anyway so I figure it’s the same as underwear. Wet diaper, wet underwear, same idea of how to clean it up. No special cleanup instructions for either but one doesn’t cost $19 a pair. Only gripe with underwear is the four-letter-word, poop. With pulldown underwear, you’d be dragging poop down too. Most cloth trainers have side access and can make poop cleanup easier.

Sustainability With underwear, Humnoy will get most use out of it well past the end of potty learning. Cloth pants may be a smart investment to some but I can’t justify buying a $20-diaper for something that is simulating something my toddler associates with peeing and pooping in. Even if I wanted to use the cloth pants for his baby sister when that time comes, I still would go the underwear route, I think. Plus, she’s an EC baby anyway.

Fun With the abundance of cartoon characters that catches every toddler’s eye, choosing cotton underwear can be used as a special reward in potty learning. We plan to take Humnoy soon to scan the underwear aisles and let him choose to his heart’s fancy. I’m sure cloth pants are just as adorable but again, Twenty-Dollar-Diaper.

I could wait and make sure he’s dry through the night and 100% diaper free before embarking on underwear. I am stuck on this plateau of potty learning and think underwear will promote body signals since he only wears a diaper outside the home. After all, isn’t underwear the next transition after diapers anyway where pull-ups/cloth training pants are not an option nor wanted as an option? As with the potty learning journey so far, this next step will be taken by following his lead and hopefully it’ll be down the big boy underwear aisle.

When would you introduce underwear?

Follow The Laotian Commotion by entering your email under my Follow widget, located on the Home page sidebar. I love when you get to read it from your inbox and absolutely love it when you take the time to comment!

You can also follow me on Twitter, find me on Instagram under LaotianMama, Pinterest and, of course, our YouTube channel.

<

9 thoughts on “Why a Cloth Diaperer Won’t Use Cloth Training Pants

  1. Yay! Humnoy. 🙂 I was gifted a cloth training pant, and I think it actually absorbs better than our other diapers! Lol. Oh, and Hanes makes some boxer briefs for the little ones. (Huck likes to match DaDa!)

  2. I’m at the same point with Lennon! At home when she is in just pants or naked she rarely has an accident and goes through naps easily without peeing (she never pooped while napping) but the moment we step out of the house she stops telling me and therefore is kept in a diaper. Except I’m sick of cleaning shit out of her cloth diapers. She’s too big now and her poo is nothing like baby poo and its just too much! So I pulled the plug on diapers. I’ve accepted that we are likely to have accidents as she reassociates what is done outside of the house (which happened yesterday at the library when she peed and pood her pants). At this point, she knows, and so I am helping nudge her into learning that she only uses the toilet, no more diapers. We will tackle night time once we get her fully day time trained no matter where we are at.

  3. I’m at the same point with Lennon! At home when she is in just pants or naked she rarely has an accident and goes through naps easily without peeing (she never pooped while napping) but the moment we step out of the house she stops telling me and therefore is kept in a diaper. Except I’m sick of cleaning shit out of her cloth diapers. She’s too big now and her poo is nothing like baby poo and its just too much! So I pulled the plug on diapers. I’ve accepted that we are likely to have accidents as she reassociates what is done outside of the house (which happened yesterday at the library when she peed and pood her pants). At this point, she knows, and so I am helping nudge her into learning that she only uses the toilet, no more diapers. We will tackle night time once we get her fully day time trained no matter where we are at.

  4. We introduced underwear right away. Let my kids pick the ones they liked best and if you pee on thomas the train it makes him sad…. helped alot! Also they are reasonably priced so if a poo happens in the underwear they can be tossed. 🙂

      • I was very lucky that neither of my kids ever had a poo accident. 🙂 We had very successful potty training experience! Good luck! We had a lot of pee emergencies and my son peed in a lot of parking lots! hahaha girls are a bit more difficult but it can be done. 🙂

So, what do you think?

