3 Big Reasons To Attend The Big Latch On


This post is a part ofย  Mothering’s “Blog about Breastfeeding” event

Did you know that the international record for one location of simultaneously breastfeeding mothers is 3,738 held by the Philippines in 2006? Did you also know that, according to random conversation with a Filipina grandmother, their ancestry is tracked back to Laos? You see, I just went “Six Degrees of Laotian Commotion” on your ass. Also, did you know that World Breastfeeding Week is starting today, August 1 and continues through August 7? The simultaneous breastfeeding event is what’s known as the Big Latch On (held Friday-Saturday August 2-August 3, 2013), where groups of breastfeeding families gather in a local venue then mothers and children are to be latched on for one minute to count toward a world record. Imagine the outcome and results from this one event. If not for the (uh) exposure but for a community coming together. I limit my solo outings with two carseat-hating kids to grocery stores and other various food establishments but I am venturing to town with these crying kids to my local Big Latch On event for big enough reasons.

big latch on 2013 {pin this for later}

Let there be food The organization encourage families to come and support breastfeeding and entice you with the option of feeding you– “cake or coffee.” Listed right on the local Big Latch On event website, they are having snacks, tea, and giveaways. Uhm, I love snacks. There’s no limit on snacks unlike the unspoken rule limit for entrees. You don’t get side-eyed for frequent snacking because, you know, they’re subtle versions of food? If you know anything about a breastfeeding mom, you know a way to her heart is feeding her or you’ll see hangry. Count me in (5-6 times) for these snacks you speak of.

Keep good company I’m a self-proclaimed social hermit. See: “solo outings” from top. It’s difficult to find in-real-life (IRL) friends that you can commiserate about your sleep issues or latest gymnurstics stunt. I have found an amazing online community that we laugh and laugh and laugh about the adventures in attachment lifestyle. It will be nice to actually force myself to share face time with other folks, who think breastfeeding is as awesome as I do. Maybe they’ll recognize me from my gymnurstics meme and I’ll be fawned over by blog fans and they’ll bring me snacks, grape-feeding style.

Part of something “big” How rad would it to be able to say, “Yeah, I remember when my first Big Latch On only had 3,000 of us worldwide” when your (grand)children are getting ready to attend their Big Latch On in the 100’s of thousands attendees if that time comes? My first attendance was the year Humnoy was born and I was included in 2011’s world record of 4,123 mothers and children, according to Diary of a Natural Mom. The world record to beat is 8862 from 2012’s event, which I did not attend because I was super crazy tired from uterus hijacking and my milk had dried up. Each year is an attempt to beat the previous record and seeing the loving community and open-minded encouragement may just do that. The visual numbers of all the breastfeeding moms hoping to normalize natural feeding is the biggest reason to join and, yes, even bigger than the free food.

Taken from the Big Latch On website,

PLEASE NOTE YOU DO NOT NEED TO REGISTER BEFORE THE DAY, PLEASE JUST SHOW UP AT YOUR CHOSEN LOCATION AND SIGN IN WHEN YOU GET THERE. THANK YOU

The Big Latch On just won’t happen without lots of breastfeeding women and children joining in!

Tell all your friends – even if they don’t breastfeed they can still help out and come along to support you.

Find a location near you

Not one nearby? Consider hosting your own. Click here for more information.

On the day of the event, arrive with enough time to allow yourself time to get registered and settled. Aim to be there around 10am.

Then hopefully have your baby latched on for a full minute during the count. The hosts at your location will make sure you know when the count starts.

Other than that, chat, make friends and have lots of fun!

Please be safe!

Please make sure you feel comfortable going to your chosen Big Latch On locations: we want you to be safe and have fun.

What: The Big Latch On in Seattle

When: Saturday, August 3rd, 2013 @ 10 am

Where: Baby Genius Academy

How: 2717 East Madison Street, Seattle, WA 98112

Will you be attending your local Big Latch On?

You can find me tweeting my hatred for pants on twitter, filtering the shit outta my kids’ mugs on Instagram, pinning food I’ll never make on Pinterest, and being a SEO creep on Google+

twitter Button Instagram Pinterest Button Google+

12 thoughts on “3 Big Reasons To Attend The Big Latch On

  1. It’s very possible we’ve attended and not attended the same event at the same time! In different time zones! Last year I was stupid pregnant and nursing hurt every single time.. So yeah.. This year though I am excited to participate with my youngest! I guess my oldest could too but it doesn’t get counted double or anything and nursing both at the same time is a pita.. One is enough. And the hermit thing.. Hopefully there’s food ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. I want to go. I really do. But what if Meese doesn’t wanna stay latched for a minute? He’s so easily distracted these days (it’s difficult to even feed him in the car because of all the interesting things to look at that you can’t see when rearfacing) that I feel like everyone would be judging me. Also, does latching with a shield count? I’m ridiculous, and possibly looking for reasons not to interact with people. Woe is me. Wooooe.

    • Hey, boo. Yes, you can use a shield and no, no one’s gonna judge you! I was worried about that too at our first even because Hum was 4 months and crawling and squirmy and … well, Hum. But he was all for the bewb. It’s just meant to have fun, nothing so technical ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Well, I guess Meese decided we’re not going. Someone slept from 7-1:45 (on a night when I’m packing… That sleep would have been glorious) and woke up like a beautiful spring flower. You know, the kind that screams and laughs and smacks your face for a few hours before crashing again? Yeah, one of those. ๐Ÿ˜ด

  3. I hardly comment, but i did some searching and wound up here 3 Big
    Reasons To Attend The Big Latch On | The Laotian Commotion. And I
    actually do have a few questions for you if it’s allright.
    Is it simply me or does it look as if like some of these comments come across
    like coming from brain dead folks? ๐Ÿ˜› And, if you are writing at additional sites, I would like to keep up with everything fresh you have to post.
    Would you make a list of every one of all your public pages like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

So, what do you think?

