Back-to-Back-to-Not-Back Pregnancies


23 months apart siblings.jpg According to a fancy website, my date of conception was anywhere between June 16-24th and second time around was May 11 to May 19 and … in 2012 when I was the mother to just the first conception baby. Yesterday, Lanoy the Second Conception turned 14 months old and I remembered that she is the same exact age as her older brother when we got surprise pregnant (again). Humnoy was just closing in on his 14th month of life when Bébé #2 was conceived. Whoops. We were in the middle of moving to the other side of the Cascades to Seattle from Spokane so clearly were pretty ahem excited for all this change. I mean, we wanted change and we sure got it. She was born February 5th, 2014 in a place where we had only been for less than two years.

Life has been much easier now that La has been a wee more independent with my working. Humnoy and Lanoy are more engaging with each other. For us, ‘engaging’ ranges anywhere from sharing snacks to tolerating each other long enough so I can go poop. Given the past dozen months of fun sibling love and reliving all the best newly-toddler moments, I’m still not trying to repeat no back-to-back pregnancy again. Hell no. It was so hard. It is worth it but so. damn. hard. So, for sake of known patterns of fertility I’m congratulating myself for not getting pregnant again at this time. Ain’t nobody got time for that.

Happy Sunday. Oh, and happy belated monthday, Lanoy.

Are you able to pinpoint when you conceived?

4 thoughts on “Back-to-Back-to-Not-Back Pregnancies

  1. I can’t pinpoint my oldest to the day but I can with #2, #3 and currently tenative #4. #2, Louis, was 10 months old when we found out about #3. I had no idea what I was in for. I had 5 years between the first 2. I didn’t realize how lucky I was to have the extra time. But seeing the boys together now does make me happy.

  2. I’m almost positive I know exactly when (and where) meese was conceived. Allllmost. But we were trying, sooo it really could have been any of those times within that week. We were “successful” the first month of trying though, so there’s only so many times it could have been.

  3. I knew the EXACT date. My husband now, boyfriend then, was on leave and we drove from Spokane to Cottage Grove Oregon to visit his grandmother. We stayed in the “honeymoon suite” at one of the only hotels in that one horse town. That’s what did it I guess! Lol.

  4. I have an idea but never put much thought into it. I do remember that I realized I was pregnant during thanksgiving BOTH times. My family gets a kick out of that!

So, what do you think?

