Midnight Snack Done the Lao Way


Humnoy and I kicked off our weekend by driving to my folks’ to help prepare for his upcoming poukhan, a Lao rite of passage to signify an important life phase for a Lao family. In our case, it is a new baby to be formally welcomed into the community.

My Mom is known for her delicious Lao dishes and is quite the foodie celebrity ’round these parts. Tonight we made homemade Lao sausage called oowua made with fresh pork, pig skin and spicy chili peppers from my Dad’s garden along with other important staple ingredients in Laotian cuisine. The piggy conglomerate is then stuffed through casing to flavor-mash overnight then frozen until the poukan scheduled for the 24th of this month.

Not to be outdone, my dad has a spur-of-the-moment craving and directs me to start up the rice steamer because we’s ’bouts to bust out some fresh sausage with mashed cucumber salad (thom mock thang)! Rice in the basket steamer, sausage under the broiler and my dad’s at work with the koak, a Laotian version of a mortar and pestle. This is where shit just got real. My dad sure can hold his own when it comes to cooking.

My dad, mom, brother and I share both dishes with fresh, sticky rice at 12:30 am.

20110911-010620.jpg
20110911-011217.jpg

Have you tried any of these foods? Do you have your own out-of-the-ordinary midnight snack?

3 thoughts on “Midnight Snack Done the Lao Way

    • Seeharhed, you’re so right. Some ‘jayo’ would round out the snack very, very nicely!

      I, too, love me some Lao food! I think every Lao loves Lao food. It’s not like I’ve heard a Lao person say, “Oh, no thanks; I don’t eat “bah dack.” šŸ˜€

  1. Pingback: One Egg Roll Down, 223 More to Go « Laotian Commotion

So, what do you think?