NYAPU: One Sick and then a Super Bowl Baby


NYAPU: Not Your Average Pregnancy Update I’m not here to tell you the size of my unborn child because even I don’t care if I have a petrified bean or a stumpy turnip taking my uterus hostage. I don’t plan on sharing the number of stretch marks (zero so far) or what I’m craving (food– I crave food). This is going to be the pregnancy update you never wanted to know yet will appreciate the impending honesty. Plus, don’t you want to know how horribly fat I’ve gotten?

I tried remembering the phrase or term for a situation when what seems to be a happy chain of events to then run out and have the shittiest event happen. Well, that happened. While I boasted I was the ‘luckiest pregnant woman,’ I seem to have jinxed my favorite little person. No, not the one growing inside of me but my first favorite little person out of the womb. Humnoy has been dealing with a low-grade fever today and my heart just breaks. I guess this is where my streak of good events ends and I just sympathize with his rosy cheeks and lethargic, unlike-himself zombie movement. It also doesn’t help that I’m a few days shy from my due date. I’m thankful that I don’t care for that date anyway.

How far along? 39 weeks, 4 days. Yep, my due date would make my unborn child betrothed as a ‘Super Bowl Baby.’ Pray that is not the case.

Measuring? On time.

Weight? Zero gain again. I’ve gained 26 lbs total so far; I gained total of 29 with Humnoy.

Mood? Freaking out. I ordered the birth supplies kit just this week, I haven’t folded any newborn clothes, and I have no prepared freezer meals. I’m banking on my instincts (and previous length of pregnancy) that I have a few more days to do that.

Midwife said? Nothing like last week’s midwives visit went, that’s for sure. I brought up my lack of confidence in not having a birth pool, but my midwife reassured me that a birth pool is not what makes a home birth. It’s just the words I wanted to hear, honestly. I feel much more confident now.

Braxton Hicks? Irregularly, 8-10 minutes apart but honestly? I don’t even notice them because I rarely have time to notice them. Only time is like now, for example, I’m in bed and it’s quiet and Humnoy’s not jumping all over me.

Breastfeeding? I’m offering much more now that he’s showing signs of the fever, for both comfort and remedy. The close skin contact is good for regulating his body temperature and even though it’s colostrum, breast milk is just amazing stuff. The first (and last) time he was sick was his ear infection and I did a lot of skin-to-skin in the Moby wrap with him. It breaks a mother’s heart to see your usual spirited child turn into a clingy, calm— wait, this is such a change that I’m gonna go with it.

Vagina? Readyyyy.

39 weeks natural pregnancy

22 months old toddler Topeak bike seat

What is your favorite remedy for a sick child?

Follow The Laotian Commotion by entering your email under my Follow widget, located on the Home page sidebar. I love when you get to read it from your inbox and absolutely love it when you take the time to comment!

You can also follow me on Twitter, find me on Instagram under LaotianMama, and my Pinterest too.

10 thoughts on “NYAPU: One Sick and then a Super Bowl Baby

  1. Every update, I’m on the edge of my seat. I’m so excited about this baby and I don’t even know you personally lol. I’ve enjoyed going on this journey with you and can’t wait for the healthy delivery of Mystery babeh :).

    • Ahh! You’re so sweet, Kazi! I’m so glad you come back to read what I have to say. It’s kinda odd, isn’t it, how I’ve connected most with my online mommy friends than those I have in real life. Sad, but I think it’s better than being around people who judge and do not understand.

      • I definitely understand that. I just recently finally got a group of mommy friends that I can relate to and my daughter’s 2.5. Online can be a gift and a curse when you get so close to people you interact with but won’t meet :(. Just need loads of pictures to fill the voids lol.

  2. I’ve had 3 homebirths, only one was a water birth. all were wonderful! your midwife is right! in fact, I actually prefer land birth now that I have experienced water birth, it was lovely except for the getting out of the water part and being cold right after having a baby mixed with the post birth shakes and having to walk across the room to the couch. I loved being able to be in my own bed with other two and to not have to move unless I wanted to. I had a little nap after my second while baby nursed and the midwives cleaned up and I woke up to a hot meal to eat. perfect! Can’t wait to hear your birth story!

  3. My favorite remedy for a sick child is also breastfeeding. My daughter had the flu last night and we just held each other close and she kept telling me that she loved me, it was so sweet and heartbreaking! I can’t wait to read your birth story!

  4. I’m so sorry to hear that he is sick. 😦 We just fought off something of the sorts ourselves. I hope he gets back to himself soon! You’re so lucky you only gained 26lbs! I gained 55lbs with Rayne.. O.o

So, what do you think?